Saturday, May 2, 2009

Larison Rock Hill Climb - Results

The fastest little race in Oregon - that's the best way to describe the inaugural Larison Rock Hill Climb which took place in Oakridge this morning. While only 8 runners toed the starting line (and crossed the finish), the field was stacked with some of the best mountain / trail runners in the state. Driving up from Ashland was the crew from Rogue Valley Runners - Eric Skaggs, Ian Torrence and Jenn Shelton. Eric won two races in the 2008 series and finished 3rd at the 2008 NW Mountain Running Championships. Ian is a regular on the regional trail and ultra running circuit and finished 2nd overall in the 2008 Oregon Mountain Running Series. Jenn was the 2nd place woman at the 2008 Mt. Ashland Hillclimb and won the 2008 World of Hurt near Las Vegas, NV. Not to be outdone by our neighbors to the south, Susanna Beck drove over from Eugene for the race. Susanna is the 2008 USATF 50 Mile Trail National Champion and was the top woman selected to the US Team for the 2009 IAU 100k World Trail Challenge.

The 4.5 mile running race was the first of six races in the 2009 La Sportiva / USATF-Oregon Mountain Running Series. The course started on the banks of the Willamette River in Greenwaters Park continuing for 1 mile on flat trails and dirt roads before turning onto the Larison Rock Trail for the 2200' climb to the summit. In spite of the significant climbing, the singletrack trail was very runable and "fast" as it wound thru the pine forests above Oakridge.

After all 8 runners had crossed the finishline pearched on the scenic summit "rock", the results were as follows:

1. Eric Skaggs (Ashland, OR) - 42:45 (USATF member)
2. Richard Bolt (Portland, OR) - 47:30 (USATF member)
3. Ian Torrence (Ashland, OR) - 48:09 (USATF member)
4. Donald Gallogly (Corvallis, OR) - 52:12 (USATF member)
5. Jenn Shelton (Ashland, OR) - 52:50
6. Sussanna Beck (Eugene, OR) - 55:10 (USATF member)
7. Sarah Altemus - 1:11:30
8. Emily Howard - 1:13:33
9. Rory Fuerst - DNS

Special thanks to:
Alan and Bev Abbs for thier help organizing the race and for managing the finishline. Alan is one of the race directors for the Where's Waldo 100k Trail Race which will be the 2009 USATF 100k Trail National Championships.

Catrina Davis and her crew who organized the Salmon 4.5 Mile Run & 2 Mile Walk and let the Larison Hill Climb be part of thier supurb event.

Mike Newby from La Sportiva who provided prizes and plenty of trail running shoes for participants to try out. La Sportiva is the title sponsor for the 2009 USATF-Oregon Mountain Running Series and will name one lucky series runner to the 2010 La Sportiva Mountain Running Team.

Sunsweet Growers for providing $100 for the top male and female finishers in the race.

1 comment:


Check out the race report from the Rogue Valley Runners at